What are Australia Awards Scholarships?

Australia Awards logo

Bhutan flag image 


Australia Awards – Intake 2018


County specific information on Australia Awards Scholarships commencing in January 2018 will be available at www.australiaawardsbhutan.org before applications open.

What are Australia Awards Scholarships?

Australia Awards Scholarships are long term development awards administered by the Australian Government's Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT). They aim to contribute to the long term development needs of Australia's partner countries in line with bilateral and regional agreements.

They provide opportunities for people from developing countries to undertake full time undergraduate or postgraduate study at participating Australian universities and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions. However, in Bhutan's case, the Australia Awards Scholarships are offered for study at only Master's level at Australian universities, either by coursework or research, or a combination of the two. The maximum duration allowed for a Master's degree is two years. In addition, short course awards (short-term trainings) are also provided to supplement or compliment the long-term awards in priority areas identified by the Royal Government of Bhutan.

The study and research opportunities provided by Australia Awards Scholarships develop skills and knowledge of individuals to drive change and contribute to the development outcomes of Bhutan.

Awardees are required to return home for two years after they have completed their studies, so they can contribute to the development of their country.