Eligibility Requirements

Australia Awards logo

Bhutan flag image 


Australia Awards – Intake 2018

Australia Awards Scholarships (AAS) 2018 intake is now closed.

What are the eligibility requirements?

General eligibility criteria

You are eligible if you:

  • are a minimum of 18 years of age at the time of commencing the Scholarship;
  • are a Bhutanese citizen and are residing in and applying for the Scholarship from Bhutan;
  • satisfy all requirements of the Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP) for an Australian Student Visa sub-class 500;
  • satisfy the admission requirements of the institution at which the Award is to be undertaken (this may mean that award will be withdrawn if the recipient cannot satisfy the institution's admission requirements).

You are NOT eligible if you are:

  • married, engaged to, or are a de facto of a person who holds, or is eligible to hold, Australian or New Zealand citizenship or permanent residency, at any part of the application, selection or mobilisation phases;
  • current serving military personnel;
  • holding permanent residency in Australia or are applying for a visa to live in Australia permanently;
  • applying for a course of study in Australia for which you have already achieved the same qualification that is deemed equivalent to the Australian qualification;
  • applying for another long term Australia Award without having resided outside of Australia for twice the length of the total time that you were in Australia (for example, a previous awardee who has been on an Australia Awards Scholarship in Australia for four years will not be eligible to apply for another Australia Awards Scholarship until they have been home for eight years).

Detailed information on the Eligibility Criteria can be found in the Scholarships Policy Handbook.

Country-specific eligibility criteria

In addition to the general eligibility criteria, applicants from Bhutan must also meet the following country-specific criteria:

  • Have completed a tertiary level qualification at least equivalent to an Australian Bachelor’s degree;
  • Have achieved a minimum academic IELTS overall score of 6.5 with no band less than 6.0, or a TOEFL paper-based test score of at least 580, with a minimum of 4.5 in the test of written English, or an internet-based TOEFL score of at least 92, with a minimum of 21 in all sub-tests, or a Pearson Test of English Academic (PTE Academic) overall score of 58, with no communicative skill score less than 50. Scores must be valid at 1 January 2018;
  • Be employed in an organisation on a full-time basis; 
  • Have at least three years of relevant work experience at the time of application (inclusive of probationary periods);
  • Provide an employer nomination letter from the Human Resource Officer (HRO) of the parent organisation/agency. In addition, applicants under the purview of the Ministry of Labour and Human Resources (MoLHR) must also submit a nomination letter from the Department of Human Resources, MoLHR;
    [The nomination letter templates can be downloaded from the Download section at the bottom of the webpage]
  • Have relevant academic background for the proposed study program that the applicant is nominated against, unless otherwise specified;
  • Fall under the specified target group identified for a particular field of study for Intake 2018;
  • Meet any other eligibility criteria specified under the BCSR 2012 or the “Guidelines for Human Resource Development (HRD) support to private and corporate sector” of the Department of Human Resources, MOLHR - whichever applies.

Special conditions

Awardees are required:

  • to sign a contract with the Commonwealth of Australia declaring they will comply with the conditions of the Scholarship;
  • to return to Bhutan for at least two years after completing their Scholarship, to contribute to the economic and social development of the country. Failure to do so will incur a debt to the Commonwealth of Australia for the total value of the Scholarship.

You can visit this link to verify whether you satisfy the eligibility criteria before commencing an application.