Australia Awards logo

Maldives flag image 


Australia Awards – Intake 2018

County specific information on Australia Awards Scholarships commencing in January 2018 will be available at before applications open

What are the Australia Awards Scholarships English Language Requirements?

Applications for Australia Awards Scholarships commencing in January 2018 will open on 1 February 2017 and will close on 30 April 2017, so now is the time to start preparing for your application, including ensuring that you satisfy the necessary English language requirements.

Australia Awards Scholarships in the Maldives will be offered to undertake Masters study programs in the priority development sectors of Economic Development, Education, Environmental Management and Good Governance.


To be eligible you must meet the following minimum standards in English language proficiency with the results valid as at 1 January 2018:

  • IELTS (Academic): a minimum overall score of at least 6.5 with no band less than 6.0;
  • TOEFL: a minimum paper-based test score of at least 580, with a minimum of 4.5 in the test of written English or an internet-based TOEFL score of at least 92, with a minimum of 21 in all subtests; or
  • PTE:  an academic overall score of 58 with no communicative skill score less than 50.

The complete eligibility criteria will be published on this webpage closer to the applications opening date

Further information

For information about Australia Awards Scholarships visit:  

County specific information will be available at before applications open; or

Contact the Australia Awards Maldives Country Office at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or +960 7977465