Australia Awards logo

Maldives flag image 


Australia Awards – Intake 2018

Australia Awards Scholarships (AAS) 2018 intake is now closed.

Bd info

Social Inclusion

Will adjustment be made for my disability? 

Yes. Applications are encouraged from people with disability, and the Program allows for reasonable adjustments to be made for successful applicants with a disability.

What are “reasonable adjustments”?

Reasonable adjustments are measures which an education provider is required to make to ensure students with a disability can meet the academic standards of their course of study and participate on the same basis as students without a disability. Reasonable adjustments might include changes to the way a person enrols in a course, alterations to the physical environment and other facilities, and changes to the way training is delivered and skills are assessed.

Awardees with a disability are assessed and provided with reasonable adjustments to ensure that they succeed in their Award.

Are the Awards open to both women and men?

Yes. At least 50 percent of the Awards will be given to qualified women applicants.


Q: What does the award provide?

The Awards are offered for the minimum period necessary for the individual to complete the academic program specified by the Australian higher education institution, including any preparatory training.  For June 2017 Intake this will be up to a maximum of two years.

Q: Can I bring my family to Australia during my scholarship?

Yes. Awardees can bring their spouse and children to Australia during the scholarship period. However, it is recommended that the awardees take their dependents six months after they arrive in Australia.  It is also recommended for applicants to declare their intention to bring their family with them to Australia in the application form. Declaring this information will not affect the outcome of their application.

Details about Intake 2018

For what sectors are Scholarships available?

Australia Awards Scholarships are offered to applicants from Bangladesh for study at Master’s level in one of the priority fields of study. The study can be undertaken by coursework or by research, or a combination of the two. However, the maximum duration that DFAT will support a Master’s degree program is for two years.

Who can apply for Intake 2018?

For Intake 2018, applications will be accepted from the following groups:

Group 1: Government of Bangladesh officials, limited to Bangladesh cadre officials, officers of the Bangladesh Bank and Judicial Service officials.

Group 2: Workers from development organisations, specifically non-government organisations (for example BRAC), civil society organisations, community-based organisations, and international development agencies (for example, United Nations agencies).

Group 3: Employees of private sector organisations.

Group 4: Those coming from academia, research institutions (for example icddr,b), media, and cultural organisations (for example, historical museums).

What fields of study are available for Intake 2018?

For Intake 2018, only Masters-level study in the following fields will be supported:

Broad Fields of Study Specific Fields of Study
Arts (limited to fashion, film, screen, animation, music) Creative Industries
Multimedia Arts
Textile and Fashion Design
Development, Governance, Environment/Sustainability Education
Climate Change and Disaster Risk Reduction
Public Health
Water Resources Management
Public Policy-related Public Administration
Public Finance
Public Sector Accounting
Science and Engineering Engineering
Technology Management
Security Studies Cyber-Security
Trade International Trade and Development